Brief Chronology

Plays are listed according to the date first performed. Please note that these dates are not universally accepted as accurate.

1558 Queen Elizabeth succeeds to the throne
1564 William Shakespeare is baptized
1582 Shakespeare marries Anne Hathaway
1590-1591 Henry VI, Part II
Henry VI, Part III
1591-1592 Henry VI, Part I
1592-1593 Richard III
Comedy of Errors
1593 Death of Christopher Marlowe
1593-1594 Titus Andronicus
Taming of the Shrew
1594-1595 Two Gentlemen of Verona
Love's Labour Lost
Romeo and Juliet
1595-1596 Richard II
A Midsummer Night's Dream
1596-1597 King John
The Merchant of Venice
1597-1598 Henry IV, Part I
Henry IV, Part II
1598-1599 Much Ado About Nothing
Henry V
1599 Opening of the Globe Theatre
1599-1600 Julius Caesar
As You Like It
Twelfth Night
1600-1601 Hamlet
The Merry Wives of Windsor
1601-1602 Troilus and Cressida
1602-1603 All's Well That Ends Well
1603 Queen Elizabeth dies
1604-1605 Measure for Measure
1605-1606 King Lear
1606-1607 Antony and Cleopatra
1607-1608 Coriolanus
Timon of Athens
1608-1609 Pericles
1609 Shakespeare's Sonnets registered
1609-1610 Cymbeline
1610-1611 The Winter's Tale
1611-1612 The Tempest
1612-1613 Henry VIII
1613 Fire at the Globe Theatre
1616 William Shakespeare dies
1623 Anne Shakespeare dies